Hungry for God?

anuary 15, 2016

Hungry for God?

Fasting without prayer is just dieting.
“I think I heard that on the radio at the beginning of lent this year. I realized that all those times I ‘tried’ to fast, I wasn’t praying! Are you saying ‘Duh!’? Well maybe there are a few of you like me who didn’t realize they were inseparable if you want spiritual benefits from fasting. This also explains why every diet I try isn’t really the ‘lifestyle change’ I would like it to be.

Fasting is giving up the ordinary so we can focus on the extraordinary.
I asked a friend how she would explain fasting to children. This is what she told me. Fasting is giving up the ordinary so we can focus on the extraordinary. I think she had some help from you know who(HS). This also clarified a little more for me why it is so important to replace that time/money/energy/thought that would have been invested in food with thoughts and time with God. Plus practicing this kind of self control with something so simple could easily lead to a habit of replacing occasions for sin, including gluttony, with time with God.”

Read the whole blog post by Jaclyn at Catholic Sistas.

Year of Mercy Calendar for today:  Fast from snacking today. 

Author: Kidung Adi

Kidung Adi merupakan situs terjemahan dari www.flocknote.com

Leave a Reply

